Brooke E. Lierman


I am humbled and honored by the overwhelming support for this campaign in communities across the state. And I'm inspired by the Marylanders of all backgrounds who have rolled up their sleeves over the last 20 months – coming together to tackle the big challenges we face today and tomorrow. As the first woman independently elected to one of our three statewide constitutional offices, I'm proud to shatter a glass ceiling here in Maryland and committed to ensuring I am not the last.

Thank you for the confidence and trust you have placed in me. Together, we will build a better Maryland.


Brooke E. Lierman


Brooke Lierman is the 34th Comptroller of the State of Maryland and the first woman to be independently elected to one of our state’s constitutional offices. After running a strong, policy-focused and grassroots-led two-year campaign, she was elected with over 60% of the vote in November 2022. She is an attorney by training, practicing as a civil rights and disability rights lawyer for many years, and prior to her election as Comptroller she served for 8 years a member of the House of Delegates representing part of Baltimore City. She and her husband and two school-age children live in Baltimore.

Transition Report

Download Transition Report Here

Transition Team

Summary & Report: The Lierman transition was an open and inclusive process that connected individuals from around the state to reimagine how the Comptroller’s office can build communities that are more equitable, resilient, and prosperous. Each work group reviewed department data, consulted with policy experts and reviewed the public's input on key issues and priorities, all of which were used to develop a Transition Report – a comprehensive set of recommendations that will inform goals and plans of the leadership of the Office of the Comptroller.


  • Honorary Co-Chairs
    • County Executive Angela D. Alsobrooks
    • Comptroller Peter Franchot
    • Senator Susan Lee

  • Working Co-Chairs
    • Candace Dodson-Reed
    • Treasurer Nancy Kopp
    • Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk

  • Workgroup Co-Chairs
    • Data and Innovation
    • Hon. Andrew Cassilly
    • Ben Seigel
    • Terry Speigner
    • Dipak Thakker

    • BPW
    • Vernica Cool
    • Robert Dashiel
    • Ash Shetty
    • Eben Smith

    • Local Government
    • Theresa Kuhns
    • Michael Sanderson

  • Workgroup Co-Chairs (Cont.)
    • Public Engagement
    • Al Delia
    • Dannielle Glaros
    • Laura Gutierrez
    • Hon. Doncella Wilson, LCSW

    • Tax Administration and Customer Engagement
    • Sharonne Bonardi
    • Honorable Richard Madaleno
    • Robin McKinney

    • DEIA Consultants
    • Dr. Valorie Sanders
    • Dr. Jasmine Lee

    • Climate Resilience Consultants
    • William Baker
    • Joanne Throwe
    • Jenn Aiosa

    • Transition Coordinator
    • Dani DiPietro

Office of the Comptroller Leadership Team

  • Chief of Staff: Rianna Matthews-Brown
  • Chief Deputy Comptroller: Andrew Schaufele
  • Deputy Comptroller for Policy, Public Works & Investment: Ben Seigel
  • Deputy Comptroller for Public Engagement: Vacant
  • Deputy Comptroller for Law & Oversight: Rachel Sessa
  • Chief Equity Officer: Dr. Kai Boggess-de Bruin
  • Chief Information Officer: Robert O’Connor