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Subject:  Work, Not Welfare, Tax Incentive Act of 1995 with 1996, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006, 

2007, and 2008 Amendments (Employment Opportunity Credit)  
  

NOTE:  The Employment Opportunity tax credit only applies to tax years beginning after December 
31, 1994 and ending before January 1, 2012.  However, excess credits earned while this law was in effect 
can be carried forward for five years beginning January 1, 2012. 

I.  General  

 The Maryland Code refers to this credit as the 
“Work, Not Welfare,” tax credit.  There is a federal 
credit also entitled “Work, Not Welfare.”  The 
Maryland Department of Human Resources refers 
to the Maryland credit as the “Employment 
Opportunity” tax credit to differentiate between the 
Maryland and federal tax credit programs.  For 
clarity and consistency, the Comptroller’s Office 
will refer to the Maryland tax credit as the 
“Employment Opportunity” tax credit.  

The 1995 legislature enacted Senate Bill 402 
(Chapter 492, Acts of 1995), which provided tax 
credit incentives for employers to hire certain 
individuals who are receiving benefits from the 
state under the Aid to Families with Dependent 
Children Program (AFDC).  There are two types of 
credits.  One credit is based on the percentage of 
wages paid to certain individuals and the other 
credit is based on a fixed amount of expenses 
incurred by an employer for child-care expense to 
enable the employee to be employed.  The two 
credits are added together and applied against the 
state income tax.  

In 1996, the legislature enacted Senate Bill 248 
(Chapter 379, Acts of 1996), which amended 
Senate Bill 402 (Chapter 492, Acts of 1996).  The 
Act introduced three provisions affecting the 
income tax credit:  

•   Required an employee to be a Maryland 
resident for at least 6 months prior to 
beginning work in order to satisfy the 
requirement for qualified employment.  

•   Reduced the period of time for qualified 
employment from six months to three months.   

•   Modified the amount of the credit for 
employees who voluntarily terminated their 

employment to take another job.   

In 1998, the legislature enacted Senate Bill 292 
(Chapter 598, Acts of 1998), which amended the 
Act.  For employees hired after June 1, 1998:  

•   Added transportation expenses;  

•   Reduced the number of years for which the 
credit could be taken; and  

•   Provided a special credit for certain 
employment opportunity employees.  

In 2000, the legislature enacted House Bill 1015 
(Chapter 448, Acts of 2000) to add a new 
requirement that an employee hired after July 1, 
2000 must be a recipient of temporary cash 
assistance for any 3 months during the 18-month 
period before the individual’s employment in order 
to satisfy the criteria as a “qualified employment 
opportunity employee.” 

In 2003, the legislature enacted House Bill 884 
(Chapter 454, Acts of 2003) to extend the time an 
employer can employ an individual and be eligible 
for the tax credit from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2006.  

In 2006, the legislature enacted House Bill 1391 
(Chapter 394, Acts of 2006) to extend the 
termination provision from June 30, 2006 to June 
30, 2007, and dates of applicability from all tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2009 to all tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2010, and from 
employees hired before July 1, 2006 to employees 
hired before July 1, 2007.  

In 2007, the legislature enacted Senate Bill 1033 
(Chapter 370, Acts of 2007) to extend the 
termination provision from June 30, 2007 to June 
30, 2008, and to extend the dates of applicability 
from all tax years beginning before January 1, 2010 
to all tax years beginning before January 1, 2011, 



 

and from employees hired before July 1, 2007 to 
employees hired before July 1, 2008.  

In 2008, the legislature enacted Senate Bill 314 
(Chapter 391, Acts of 2008) to extend the 
termination provision from June 30, 2008 to June 
30, 2009, and dates of applicability from all tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2011 to all tax 
years beginning before January 1, 2012, and for 
employees hired before July 1, 2008 to employees 
hired before July 1, 2009.  

   No legislation was enacted during the 2009, 
2010, 2011 or 2012 session of the Maryland 
General Assembly to extend this credit and as 
result, the termination date for this credit was June 
30, 2009.  The credit is only applicable to taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 1994 but 
before January 1, 2012.  However, credits can still 
be earned for employees hired before July 1, 2009, 
for expenses incurred during the last applicable tax 
year (2011).  Excess credits can be carried over for 
up to 5 years beginning on or after January 1, 2012. 

II.  Definitions  

A. “Business entity/employer” includes a person 
conducting or operating a trade or business in 
Maryland.  The term employer encompasses an 
individual proprietorship, partnership, corporation 
or S corporation,  a limited liability company, or  
an organization operating in Maryland that is 
exempt from taxation under Section 501(c)(3) or 
(4) of the IRC.  

B. “Qualified child care expenses” means state 
regulated child care expenses that are incurred by 
an employer to enable the employee to be gainfully 
employed.  The child care must be provided by a 
state-regulated provider.  

C. “Qualified employment opportunity 
employee” means an individual who:  

1. was a resident of Maryland for the last six 
months prior to employment with the business 
entity; and  

2.  was a recipient of temporary cash assistance 
from the Aid to Families with Dependent Children 
Program or the Family Investment Program 
(“assistance”) for any period of 3 months during 
the 18-month period before being hired by the 
employer.   

    D. “Qualified employment opportunity 
employee” does not include an individual who is 

the spouse of or can be claimed as a dependent1 by 
a person who controls directly or indirectly more 
than 50% of the ownership of the business.  

E. “Transportation expenses” are expenses that 
are incurred by an employer to enable a qualified 
employment opportunity employee to travel to and 
from work.  

F. “Wages” means wages as defined in                
§ 51(C)(1), (2), and (3) of the Internal Revenue 
Code (wages used in determining the Targeted 
Federal Jobs Credit) which generally includes 
payments for services performed in a trade or 
business of the employer.   

III.  Certification  

The Department of Labor, Licensing and 
Regulation must have certified an individual as a 
qualified employment opportunity employee.   

IV.  Computation of the Credit  

A.  For employees hired before June 1, 1998  

1.  Wages.  An employer computes the credit 
based on wages paid to each qualified employment 
opportunity employee.  The credit is an amount 
equal to:  

a.  30% of up to the first $6,000 of the wages 
paid to the employee during the first year of 
employment;  

b.  20% of up to the first $6,000 of the wages 
paid to the employee during the second year of 
employment; and  

c.  10% of up to the first $6,000 of the wages 
paid to the employee during the third year of 
employment.  

2.  Child care expenses.  For each taxable year, 
for child care provided or paid by an employer for 
the children of a qualified employment opportunity 
employee, a credit is allowed in an amount equal 
to:  

a.  Up to $600 of the qualified child care 

                                                      

1  “Dependent” is defined in § 152 of the Internal 
Revenue Code.  Tax-General § 10-704.3 references § 
152(a)(1)-(8) of the Internal Revenue Code.  Section 152 
was amended in 2004 and has been changed and 
renumbered to add additional paragraphs that explicitly 
describe who is a “Dependent.”  The correct reference is 
§ 152 of the Internal Revenue Code. 



 

expenses incurred for each employee during the 
first year of employment;  

b.  Up to $500 of the qualified child care 
expenses incurred for each employee during the 
second year of employment; and  

c.  Up to $400 of the qualified child care 
expenses incurred for each employee during the 
third year of employment.  

B.  For employees hired on or after June 1, 
1998 and on or before June 30, 2009 

1.  Wages.  An employer computes the credit 
based on wages paid to each qualified employment 
opportunity employee.  Except as provided in 
Subparagraph c of this paragraph, the credit is an 
amount equal to:  

a.  30% of up to the first $6,000 of the wages 
paid to the employee during the first year of 
employment;  

b.  20% of up to the first $6,000 of the wages 
paid to the employee during the second year of 
employment; or  

c.  40% of up to the first $10,000 of wages 
paid to an employment opportunity employee who:  

(1)  has been a recipient of assistance for at 
least 18 of the last 48 months (whether consecutive 
or not); and  

(2)  has been employed for a full year by 
the employer claiming the credit.  

2.  Child care and transportation expenses.  For 
each taxable year, for child care provided or paid 
by an employer for the children of a qualified 
employment opportunity employee, and 
transportation expenses, a credit is allowed in an 
amount equal to:  

a.  Up to $600 of the qualified child and 
transportation expenses incurred for each employee 
during the first year of employment; and  

b.  Up to $500 of the qualified child care and 
transportation expenses incurred for each employee 
during the second year of employment.  

V.  Restrictions  

A.  An employer may not claim a credit for a 
certified employee:  

1.  who is hired to replace a laid-off employee 
or to replace an employee who is on strike; or  

2.  for whom the employer simultaneously 
receives other federal or state employment training 
benefits.  

B.  An employer may not claim the credit unless 
the employer has notified the Department of Labor, 
Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) that the 
qualified employment opportunity employee has 
been hired.  The employer may satisfy this 
requirement by writing a letter to:  Targeted Jobs 
Tax Credit Office, Department of Labor, Licensing 
and Regulation, 1100 N. Eutaw Street, Room 201, 
Baltimore, MD  21201, (410) 767-2080.  

C.  An employer may claim the credit under this 
section for an employee whose employment lasts 
less than one year if the employee:  

1.  voluntarily terminates the employment with 
the employer;  

2.  is unable to continue employment due to 
death or a disability; or  

3.  is terminated for cause.  

D.  Except as provided in Subsection E of this 
section, an employer may claim a credit reduced by 
the proportion of a year that an employee did not 
work if the employment is less than a year because 
of the circumstances described in Subsection C of 
this section.  

E.  An employer may claim a credit for an 
employee who is employed for less than a year if 
the employee voluntarily terminates employment to 
take another job.  The amount of the credit is 30% 
of up to the first $6,000 of wages paid to the 
employee during the period of employment.  

VI.  Taxable Year for Claim  

For each taxable year, an employer may claim a 
tax credit for the wages paid and qualified child 
care or transportation expenses incurred for each 
qualified employment opportunity employee.    

A.  Example 1.  An employer hires a qualified 
employment opportunity employee on November 1, 
1995.  The employee completes one year of 
employment on October 31, 1996.  The employer is 
now eligible for the credit for the wages paid to that 
employee subject to the limits referred to in Section 
IV.  In 1995, the employer paid the individual 
$1,000.  In 1996, the employer paid the individual 
$10,000.  The total amount of the credit that may 
be claimed for this individual is $1,800 (30% x 
$6,000) for the year during which the employee 



 

was hired.  The employer may claim $1,000 on the 
1995 return and $800 on the 1996 return for the 
first year of employment for this individual.  
Alternatively, the employer may elect to claim the 
entire $1,800 in 1996 and none in 1995.  The 
amount of the credit for this individual may not, in 
any case, exceed $1,800 for the first year of 
employment.  

B.  Example 2.  The employer hires a qualified 
employment opportunity employee on October 1, 
1995, and the employee quits on November 30, 
1995.  During this period, the employer pays the 
individual $4,000 in wages.  The employer may 
claim a credit for the wages paid this individual in 
the taxable year 1995 of $200.  This amount is 
computed by applying 30% to the $4,000 paid the 
individual and multiplying that by the fraction of 
the number of months employed over 12 months.  
In this case the fraction would be 1/6.  

C.  Example 3.  An employer may also prorate 
the credit by calculating it on the actual months 
worked and limiting qualified wages to a maximum 
of $500 per month.  Applying this concept, if an 
employer hired a qualified employee in October of 
1995 and the employee worked for a period of 8 
months at a wage of $1,000 per month, the 
maximum amount of credit the employer can take 
is 30% of $1,500 in 1995 ($500 times the 3 months 
worked in 1995).  In 1996, the employer can take a 
maximum of 30% of $2,500 for 1996 ($500 times 
the 5 months worked in 1996).  This example 
assumes that the employer is on a calendar-year 
basis and the employment terminated in accordance 
with Section V. Subsection C.  If the amount of the 
individual’s wages were less than $500 per month, 
the actual amount of wages would have to be used.  

D.  Example 4.  The employer hires a qualified 
employment opportunity employee on October 1, 
1996, and the employee voluntarily terminates 
employment on March 1, 1997, in order to take 
another job.  During the period of employment, the 
employer pays the individual $7,000 in wages.  The 
employer may claim a credit of $1,800 (30% of 
$6,000).  If the same employee had been paid 
$4,000, the amount of the credit would be $1,200 
(30% of $4,000).  

VII.  Application of the Credit  

A.  An employer who is claiming a credit based 
on wages or child care and transportation expenses 
may claim a credit only against the state income tax 

portion.  The credit may not be claimed against the 
local income tax portion.  

B.  A credit may not be claimed against the state 
income tax portion if the employer has applied the 
credit to any other tax provided for under this Act.  
If, for example, an employer is subject to the public 
service company franchise tax and the income tax, 
the credit may be applied against only one tax for 
which the individual or entity is liable.  

VIII.  Manner of Claiming the Credit  

The credit may be taken by completing Form 
500CR, Business Tax Credits.  The form must be 
attached to the Maryland individual income tax 
return Form 502 in the case of an individual 
proprietorship.  For a C corporation, the 
corporation must file a corporate income tax return 
and attach the Form 500CR to the return.  

Pass-through entities will be able to pass the 
credit through to their members.  The pass-through 
entity must attach to the pass-through entity tax 
return the business tax credit Form 500CR and 
must report on the Schedule K-1 each individual’s 
share of the credit.  Members may take their pro 
rata share of the credit against their tax on their 
individual returns.  In the case of a nonresident 
member, the credit would be taken against the tax 
reported on the nonresident return, Form 505.  For 
resident members, the credit must be taken on their 
individual income tax returns, Form 502.  
Individual members must attach to their returns a 
copy of the Schedule K-1 showing the amount of 
credit from the pass-through entity.  

An organization that is exempt from taxation 
under § 501(c)(3) or (4) of the Internal Revenue 
Code may apply the credit as a credit against:  

A.  income tax due on unrelated business taxable 
income; or  

B.  the payment to the Comptroller of taxes that 
the organization is required to withhold from the 
wages of employees.  (See Administrative Release 
No. 34)  

IX.  Carryover of Credit  

If the credit allowed in any taxable year exceeds 
the total tax otherwise payable by the employer for 
that taxable year, an employer may apply the 
excess as a credit for succeeding taxable years until 
the earlier of the full amount of the excess is used 
or to the expiration of the fifth taxable year after 



 

the taxable year in which the wages or qualified 
child care or transportation expenses for which the 
credit is claimed were paid.  

  

  

  

  X.  Addition Modification  
  

Employers claiming the credit on the individual 
or corporate income tax return must add back the 
amount of the credit claimed to their federal 
adjusted gross income or federal taxable income.  

  

  

  

  

XI.  Effective Date    

The Work, Not Welfare, Tax Incentive Act is 
effective July 1, 1995, and applies to all taxable 
years beginning after December 31, 1994, but 
before January 1, 2012; provided, however, that the 
tax credit shall be allowed only for employees hired 
on or after June 1, 1995, but before July 1, 2009.  
The excess credits may be carried forward subject 
to the five-year carryover limitation, and may be 
applied as a credit to tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2012.   
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Revenue Administration Division, Revenue 
Administration Center Annapolis, Maryland 

21411-0001  

Telephone: 410-260-7980 or 1-800-MD 
TAXES  

taxhelp@comp.state.md.us  

www.marylandtaxes.com  

For the deaf or hard of hearing: call via 
Maryland Relay at 711 in Maryland or 1-800-

735-2258  
If you need reasonable accommodation for a 
disability, please contact us before you visit.  

If you need the information in this publication in an 
alternate format, contact the Comptroller’s Office.  

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

   

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  


