Maryland Regulatory and Enforcement Division

Regulation



Comptroller of Maryland • Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Bureau • Goldstein Treasury Building P.O. Box 2999 • Annapolis, Maryland 21404-2999 • Telephone: 410-260-7314 • Fax: 410-974-3201 Web Site: http://compnet.comp.state.md.us/red/

> Title 03 Comptroller of the Treasury Subtitle 02 Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Chapter 01 Alcoholic Beverages Authority: Article 2B, §§16-301, 16-302 Annotated Code of Maryland

.19 Alcohol Awareness Program and Training.

A. Alcohol Awareness Program Provider Requirements. A holder of an alcohol awareness program permit shall:

(1) Maintain a current alcohol awareness program permit as required under Article 2B, §2-101, Annotated Code of Maryland;

(2) Maintain each alcohol awareness program in conformance with Article 2B, §13-101, Annotated Code of Maryland, as certified by the Comptroller;

(3) Notify the Comptroller, in writing, of any changes to the program, at least 30 days before implementation, for the Comptroller's approval;

(4) Upon approval by the Comptroller under §A(3) of this regulation, notify each alcohol awareness instructor and provide revised program material;

(5) Notify the Comptroller, in writing, of discontinuance of the program with notice sent simultaneously to each alcohol awareness instructor;

(6) Submit authorized alcohol awareness instructor permit applications to the Comptroller for approval;

(7) Provide, at a minimum, 3 hours of alcohol awareness instructional classroom or electronic training of the program approved by the Comptroller;

(8) Provide a program testing component with a uniform passing score and uniform objectives, which have been preapproved by the Comptroller;

(9) Unless a delay is caused by a student, issue certificates to students who have successfully completed alcohol awareness training based on lists provided by an alcohol awareness instructor within 30 days of receipt of the notice, which certificates shall include the:

- (a) Program administrator's signature;
- (b) Program name;
- (c) Instructor's name;
- (d) Student's name;
- (e) Issuance date; and
- (f) 4 year validation period;

(10) Notify, in writing, the local alcoholic beverage licensing board in accordance with Article 2B, \$13-101, Annotated Code of Maryland, of individuals who have successfully completed the alcohol awareness program, within 5 days after a certificate of completion is sent to the student as required in \$A(9) of this regulation; and

(11) Maintain records for a period of 5 years from the date the certificate was issued, reflecting the:

(a) Student's name;

(b) Student's address;

(c) Instructor's name;

(d) Permit number;

(e) Certification date; and

(f) If known, the:

(i) Local licensing board; and

(ii) Licensed retail establishment's name and address.

B. Upon approval of an alcohol awareness instructor permit application, the Comptroller shall forward the alcohol awareness instructor permit to the program administrator for distribution to the authorized instructors.

C. Alcohol Awareness Instructor Requirements. A holder of an alcohol awareness instructor permit shall:

(1) Maintain a current alcohol awareness instructor's permit as required by Article 2B, §2-101, Annotated Code of Maryland;

(2) Apply for an alcohol awareness instructor permit through the authorizing alcohol awareness program administrator;

(3) Provide alcohol awareness training that covers the program as certified by the Comptroller, including the: (a) Course content;

(b) Classroom or electronic hours; and

(c) Testing component;

(4) Provide training to persons of an alcohol awareness training program as certified by the Comptroller and authorized by the alcohol awareness training program provider;

(5) Conduct the testing component in the presence of the student;

(6) Provide within 10 days of completion of the class, a written list to the alcohol awareness program provider reflecting the:

(a) Student's name;

(b) Student's address;

(c) Dates of classroom or electronic training; and

(d) Licensed retail establishment's name and address, if known; and

(7) Maintain records of all alcohol awareness training classes and certifications for a period of 5 years.

D. Before an alcohol awareness instructor administers the test under C(5) of this regulation, a student shall satisfactorily prove the student's identity to the instructor by means of a government issued photo identification.

E. Type of Program Presentations. Programs may be presented in a classroom, individual, or electronic format. Testing shall be provided by the instructor face-to-face with the student as required under C(5) of this regulation.

F. Responsibility. An alcohol awareness program provider shall have primary responsibility for the conduct and performance of each holder of an alcohol awareness instructor permit who provides instructions for the respective provider's alcohol awareness program.

Effective 3-1-07