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Notice to Taxpayers
The Governor has announced he will call the State Legislature into a Special Session on October 29, 2007 to make changes to the
current tax law. It is possible that there may be major changes to the Withholding Tax calculations for 2008. Please check our Web
site at www.marylandtaxes.com to see if you are impacted by any of these proposed changes.

This edition of Withholding Tax Facts offers information about
Seling your employer withholding tax form, reconciliation statement
and other forms you'll find in your 2008 return booklet.

INCOME TAX RATE

Maryland’s top marginal tax rate continues at 4.75 percent
and the personal exemption is $2,400 for tax year 2008. The local
income tax is computed without regard to the impact of the state
tax rate.

COUNTY RATES

Local tax is based on taxable income and not on Mary-
land state tax. If you use the percentage method to calculate the
amount of state and local tax to be withheld, simply add the
actual local tax rate to the state rate of 4.75 percent to get the
combined state and local tax rate. The combined state and local
tax rate should then be applied to the taxable income.

Listed below are the actual 2008 local income tax rates.

Allegany 3.05% Howard 3.20%
Anne Arundel 2.56% Kent 2.85%
Baltimore County ~ 2.83% Montgomery 3.20%
Calvert 2.80% Prince George’s 3.10%
Caroline 2.63% Queen Anne’s 2.85%
Carroll 3.05% St. Mary’s 3.00%
Cecil 2.80% Somerset 3.15%
Charles 2.90% Talbot 2.25%
Dorchester 2.62% Washington 2.80%
Frederick 2.96% Wicomico 3.10%
Garrett 2.65% Worcester 1.25%
Harford 3.06% Baltimore City 3.05%

We provide separate tables for the convenience of employers
who do not withhold using an automated or computerized sys-
tem, or who prefer to look up the amounts to be withheld manu-
ally. For these tables, we have continued our practice of grouping
the local income tax rates into rate brackets. For 2008, we will
use nine brackets: 1.25%, 2.25%, 2.60%, 2.65%, 2.85%, 2.95%,
3.00%, 3.10% and 3.20%. Refer to the county listing above and
use the table that agrees with or is closest to without going below
the actual local tax rate.

Taxpayers who make quarterly estimated tax payments
should make the necessary adjustments for the 2008 tax year.
They can use the estimated tax calculator on the Comptroller’s
Web site at www.marylandtaxes.com to help make the calcula-
tion.

Withholding tables can be downloaded from the Comptrol-
ler’s Web site at www.marylandtaxes.com. If you do not have In-

ternet access, you may call 410-260-7951 from Central Maryland
or 1-800-MD TAXES from elsewhere.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

*  Employers or payors who are submitting 100 or more annual
withholding statements are required to use magnetic media
other machine-readable or electronic formats. The employer
or payor may request a waiver for this requirement and, if the
Comptroller determines that the requirements will result in
undue hardship to the employer or payor, the requirement
may be waived.

*  Accelerated taxpayers may request a waiver allowing monthly
returns for the remainder of the calendar year. A renewal of
the waiver is also available if eligibility to file federal with-
holding tax returns on a monthly basis is unchanged.

* Payors of distributions that are Eligible Rollover Distribu-
tions (ERDs) under IRC Section 3405 (c), subject to manda-
tory federal income tax withholding, are required to with-
hold Maryland income tax from these distributions paid to
Maryland residents at the rate of 7.75%.

*  Designated Distributions are only subject to Maryland in-
come tax withholding if the payee affirmatively elects to have
withholding made by the payor. The amount required to be
withheld from the Designated Distributions is the amount
that the payee requests using Form MW507P.

ELECTRONIC FILING

Save time and money by meeting your business tax filing
obligations electronically. The payment methods listed below
qualify as Electronic Fund Transfers and will meet the EF'T
requirement. These electronic filing and payment options are also
available to taxpayers who must file and pay Maryland sales tax.

File over the Internet and pay by direct debit: Use bFile, the
Comptroller’s free Internet filing service for businesses, to file
and pay online at www.marylandtaxes.com. bFile is a free service
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that allows you to file and make your payment by electronic funds
withdrawal (direct debit). Zero reports may also be filed through

the bFile service.

File and pay by ACH Credit: File and pay through your
bank using the ACH Credit method. Contact your bank to see
if it offers this service. Your bank may charge a nominal fee for
an ACH Credit transaction. If you are an accelerated filer using
ACH Credit, please see “For Your Information” for important
information about accelerated filing via ACH Credit.

File and pay by phone: Use your telephone and the free ACH
Debit Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) service to pay your
employer withholding, sales and use tax, motor fuel tax and
corporation income tax payments. You must preregister for EF'T
payments. Visit the Comptroller’s Web site at
www.marylandtaxes.com or call 410-260-7601 for more infor-
mation on the EFT program and registration requirements.

File and pay by credit card: Pay with your MasterCard®,
VISA®, Discover® or American Express® card by calling Official
Payments Corp. at 1-800-2PAYTAX or by visiting www.offi-
cialpayments.com. Official Payments Corp., a private credit card
payment services provider, charges a convenience fee per transac-
tion. The state does not receive this fee.

File zero reports by phone: If you did not withhold any
Maryland income tax for a reporting period, do not mail us your

MW 506. Instead, call 410-260-7225 to file the zero report by

phone. Please have the form in front of you when you call so you

will have all of the information you need to file by phone.

ANNUAL WITHHOLDING FILERS

Annual withholding tax filers receive a coupon book with
four quarterly reports. Use the report with the quarter ending
that corresponds with your tax end. For example, if your tax year
ends between October 1 and December 31, use the fourth quarter
coupon to report and pay tax withheld. The annual reconcilia-
tion Form MW508 and state copy of federal Form W-2’s issued
for the previous calendar year is due on the last day of February,
regardless of the quarter in which your year ends.

ANNUAL REPORT DUE FEB. 28, 2009

The annual employer withholding reconciliation report (MW
508) included in the coupon book is due February 28, 2009. You
must send in the MW 508, along with the state copy of Form
W-2 for each person for whom income tax was withheld.

Use your account number on all correspondence and checks
relating to your income tax withholding account.

FILING YOUR RETURN

* The number one error is sending in the wrong coupon.
Send in the coupon marked for the correct month.

* The number two error is incorrect figures. Please double-
check your entries.

* Ifyou are filing accelerated (MW506M) you must enter

the pay date (the day you pay your employees) on the
MW506M.

* You must complete forms MW506, MW506A,
MW506M, MW506AM, MW508 and MW508A.
(10/07)

* File the “final report” form in your coupon book if you are
closing your business to avoid unnecessary delinquent no-
tices and collection action.

* You must provide each employee with a wage and tax state-
ment, federal Form W-2, on or before January 31 each year.

* Ifyou don’t have the window envelope but do have your
Form MW 506, mail it with your payment to:
Revenue Administration Division, P.O. Box 17132,
Baltimore, MD 21297-0175.

MAGNETIC MEDIA

Important Changes For Tax Year 2007

* Reduction in the number wage statements required to be filed
in machine-readable or electronic format. Senate Bill 94 changed
the number of W-2’s required to be submitted to the Comptroller
of Maryland in machine-readable or electronic format from 150 to
100 for calendar year 2007.

* New “RE” record modification. The “RE” record has been
modified to include the Maryland Central Registration Number in
positions 222-229.

* New “RS” record modification. The “RS” record has been
modified to include the Employer Identification Number in
positions 328-336. Employee Withholding Allowance positions
368-369 required for 2007. Failure to provide required data in the
“RS” record will require to us to reject the magnetic media filing.
Any rejected filing is considered to be filed and may be subject to
penalties of up to $50 per.

* New “RV” record required. Maryland magnetic media filers

are to use the Social Security Administration reporting format
specifications “EFW2”, formally known as “MMREF-1". The
SSA format includes a new record for calendar year 2007, the
“RV” record. The new “RV” record will replace the MWS508
portion of te “RE” record that was modified last year to reflect
Form MW508 data. To obtain a copy of the 2007 Magnetic Media
Specifications Booklet, please visit our Web site at
www.marylandtaxes.com

* Online filing option. Employers can file electronically using our
online b-File application which allows employer to key in up to
250 W2’s and their MW508 Year End Reconciliation Form.
Please see our Web site for additional information and details. If
you should have any questions please contact the office by whone
at 410-260-7150 or e-mail at www.marylandtaxes.com

FOR QUESTIONS ABOUT...

Withholding, obtaining withholding guides or forms, lost
or destroyed return booklets, corporation income tax, personal
income tax, nonresident shareholders’ or partners’ tax, e-mail
taxhelp@comp.state.md.us, or call 410-260-7980 from Central
Maryland or 1-800 MD TAXES from elsewhere.

If you have a delinquent withholding tax collection problem,
call 410-649-0633.

For the hearing impaired: T'TY users call via Maryland Relay
at 711 in Maryland or 1-800-735-2258 from anywhere. If you
need a reasonable accommodation for a disability, or need the
information in this 7ax Facts in an alternate format, contact the

Comptroller’s Office.



