
This edition of Withholding Tax Facts offers information about
filing your employer withholding tax form, reconciliation statement
and other forms you’ll find in your 2006 return booklet.

INCOME TAX RATE
Maryland’s top marginal tax rate continues at 4.75 percent and

the personal exemption is $2,400 for tax year 2006. The local
income tax is computed without regard to the impact of the state
tax rate.

COUNTY RATES
Local tax is based on taxable income and not on Maryland

state tax. If you use the percentage method to calculate the
amount of state and local tax to be withheld, simply add the
actual local tax rate to the state rate of 4.75 percent to get the
combined state and local tax rate.  The combined state and local
tax rate should then be applied to the taxable income.

Listed below are the actual 2006 local income tax rates.

We provide separate tables for the convenience of employers
who do not withhold using an automated or computerized
system, or who prefer to look up the amounts to be withheld
manually.  For these tables, we have continued our practice of
grouping the local income tax rates into rate brackets.  For 2006, we
will use nine brackets: 1.25%, 2.25%, 2.60%, 2.65%, 2.85%, 2.95%,
3.00%, 3.10% and 3.20%.  Refer to the county listing above and
use the table that agrees with or is closest to without going below
the actual local tax rate.

 Taxpayers who make quarterly estimated tax payments
should make the necessary adjustments for the 2006 tax year.
They can use the estimated tax calculator on the Comptroller’s
Web site at www.marylandtaxes.com to help make the calculation.

Withholding tables can be downloaded from the Comptroller’s
Web site at www.marylandtaxes.com. If you do not have Internet
access, you may call 410-260-7951 from Central Maryland or
1-800-MD TAXES from elsewhere.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION
1. Lottery winnings are subject to withholding at a rate of

7.75 percent for Maryland residents or 6.00 percent for
nonresidents.

2. When a rollover distribution is subject to a mandatory
federal withholding, the eligible rollover distributions of
Maryland residents is now subject to a mandatory state
withholding of 7.75 percent.

3. Beginning July 1, 2005, Maryland law authorizes the
Comptroller of Maryland to require an employer
withhold income tax on the basis of one exemption when
the Comptroller’s Office notifies the employer that the
employee has not filed a required Maryland income
tax return.

Current law allows the Comptroller of Maryland to notify
an employer that an individual employee has an unpaid tax
liability.  The notification provision was expanded on
July 1, 2005, to include a notification that an individual
employee is subject to a tax refund interception request.
A refund intercept request can be submitted by the IRS for
delinquent federal income taxes, the Department of
Human Resources for delinquent child support or the
Central Collection Unit for other Maryland liabilities, and
certain states that have a reciprocal offset agreement with
Maryland.  In these cases, withholding is calculated based
on the number of exemptions actually allowed on the
employee’s prior year’s tax return.

For questions concerning the withholding of Maryland and
local taxes, please call Taxpayer Service at 410-767-1300 from
Central Maryland or 1-800-492-1751 from elsewhere. You may
also e-mail your questions to taxhelp@comp.state.md.us.

Allegany 2.93%
Anne Arundel 2.56%
Baltimore County 2.83%
Calvert 2.80%
Caroline 2.63%
Carroll 3.05%
Cecil 2.80%
Charles 2.90%
Dorchester 2.62%
Frederick 2.96%
Garrett 2.65%
Harford 3.06%

Howard 3.20%
Kent 2.85%
Montgomery 3.20%
Prince George’s 3.20%
Queen Anne’s 2.85%
St. Mary’s 3.00%
Somerset 3.15%
Talbot 2.25%
Washington 2.80%
Wicomico 3.10%
Worcester 1.25%
Baltimore City 3.05%
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ELECTRONIC FILING
Save time and money by meeting your business tax filing

obligations electronically.  The payment methods listed below
qualify as Electronic Fund Transfers and will meet the EFT
requirement as explained in item #4 under “For Your Information.”
These electronic filing and payment options are also available to
taxpayers who must file and pay Maryland sales tax.

File over the Internet and pay by direct debit: Use bFile, the
Comptroller’s free Internet filing service for businesses, to file and
pay online at www.marylandtaxes.com. bFile is a free service that
allows you to file and make your payment by electronic funds
withdrawal (direct debit). Zero reports may also be filed through
the bFile service.

File and pay by ACH Credit: File and pay through your bank
using the ACH Credit method. Contact your bank to see if it offers
this service. Your bank may charge a nominal fee for an ACH
Credit transaction. If you are an accelerated filer using ACH
Credit, please see item #3 under “For Your Information” for important
information about accelerated filing via ACH Credit.

File and pay by phone: Use your telephone and the free
ACH Debit Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) service to pay
your employer withholding, sales and use tax, motor fuel tax
and corporation income tax payments. You must preregister
for EFT payments. Visit the Comptroller’s Web site at
www.marylandtaxes.com or call 410-260-7601 for more
information on the EFT program and registration requirements.

File and pay by credit card: Pay with your MasterCard®,
VISA®, Discover® or American Express® card by calling Official
Payments Corp. at 1-800-2PAYTAX or by visiting
www.officialpayments.com. Official Payments Corp., a private
credit card payment services provider, charges a 2.5 percent
convenience fee per transaction. The state does not receive this fee.

File zero reports by phone: If you did not withhold any
Maryland income tax for a reporting period, do not mail us your
MW 506. Instead, call 410-260-7225 to file the zero report by
phone. Please have the form in front of you when you call so you
will have all of the information you need to file by phone.

ANNUAL WITHHOLDING FILERS
Annual withholding tax filers receive a coupon book with

four quarterly reports. Use the report with the quarter ending
that corresponds with your tax end. For example, if your tax year
ends between October 1 and December 31, use the fourth
quarter coupon to report and pay tax withheld. The annual
reconciliation Form MW 508 and state copy of federal Form
W-2’s issued for the previous calendar year is due on the last day
of February, regardless of the quarter in which your year ends.

ANNUAL REPORT DUE FEB. 28, 2007
The annual employer withholding reconciliation report

(MW 508) included in the coupon book is due February 28, 2007.
You must send in the MW 508, along with the state copy of Form
W-2 for each person for whom income tax was withheld.

Use your account number on all correspondence and checks
relating to your income tax withholding account.

FILING YOUR RETURN
• The number one error is sending in the wrong coupon.

Send in the coupon marked for the correct month.

• The number two error is incorrect figures. Please double-
check your entries.

• You must complete forms MW 506, MW 506A, MW 506M,
MW 506AM, MW 508 and MW 508A in black ink.

• File the “final report” form in your coupon book if you are
closing your business to avoid unnecessary delinquent no-
tices and collection action.

• You must provide each employee with a wage and tax state-
ment, federal Form W-2, on or before January 31 each year.

• If you don’t have the window envelope but do have your
Form MW 506, mail it with your payment to:
Revenue Administration Division, P.O. Box 17132,
Baltimore, MD 21297-0175.

MAGNETIC MEDIA
If you are required under federal law to provide wage and tax

information on magnetic media, you must also submit your
Maryland withholding information on magnetic media.

• The layout for the “RS” record has been modified for tax
year 2005 to include a two-digit field called the Employee
Withholding Allowance.  The two-digit field is located in
positions 368-369 of the “RS” record.  This two-digit field is
the exemption allowance found on Form W-4, Employee’s
Withholding Allowance Certificate.  This new field will be
requested for tax year 2005, however, it will be required for
tax year 2006.  To obtain a copy of the Magnetic Media
Specification Booklet, please visit our Web site at
www.marylandtaxes.com.

• Do not report duplicate information.  If you file returns
magnetically, identical paper documents must not be filed.
This may result in erroneous balance due notices and/or
penalty notices.

• Failure to comply may result in a penalty of $50 for each
violation.  Each Form W-2/1099 issued that is not
properly filed is a separate violation subject to the above
penalty per Section 13-706 of the Tax-General Article,
Annotated Code of Maryland.

FOR QUESTIONS ABOUT...
Withholding, obtaining withholding guides or forms, lost or

destroyed return booklets, corporation income tax, personal income tax,
nonresident shareholders’ or partners’ tax – contact
taxhelp@comp.state.md.us, or call 410-260-7980 from Central
Maryland or 1-800 MD TAXES from elsewhere.

If you have a delinquent withholding tax collection problem, call
410-649-0633.

For the hearing impaired: TTY users call via Maryland Relay at
711 in Maryland or 1-800-735-2258 from anywhere. If you need a
reasonable accommodation for a disability, or need the information in
this Tax Facts in an alternate format, contact the Comptroller’s Office.
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